An agon for Antinous and a dedication

On this Beltaine, the feast of the Boar Hunt of Antinous and Hadrian, I am delighted to share with you that I have won the poetry prize in this year’s agon for the Megala Antinoeia. It was awarded for my poem “Finding the Red Lotus”.

This is also the right time to announce that I am undertaking a project which I conceived and planned out in mid-March. I did not begin it at that time because I was writing poems for the monthly commemorations of the Tetrad++, among other reasons. Now, with the month of May begun, I am undertaking to compose 31 hymns for Antinous, one each day of the month. I was inspired to do this by Sannion’s offering to Dionysus, published as Thunderstruck with Wine; I was also, I think, directed to do this by Antinous himself. The first of those hymns, a remix or pastiche of PSVL’s Antinoan Hymn, will follow in a separate post.

A joyous Beltaine to all who celebrate! Happy Venatio Apri to my fellow Antinoans! Blessed Samhain to any readers in the Southern Hemisphere!

Published by

M.T.

Writer, musician, polytheist, and friend of birds. I groove on transformative works.

One thought on “An agon for Antinous and a dedication”

Leave a comment