#prayfororlando

I am not good at saying wise and helpful things when tragedy strikes. Even when I identified as heterosexual, even as a child, I had no comprehension of hatred for gay and lesbian people. Now I can only sit dumbly and think, “My people have been harmed, again. I am bisexual, and in the right circumstances, I could lose my life for that fact.”

All I have to share is an idea for a fanfic that I don’t think I have the energy to write: Steve Rogers, Captain America, goes to Orlando to donate blood in the current crisis. He has type O blood, the universal donor, and thanks to his superpowers, he can donate two or three times the amount of blood a normal person can give without any harm to himself.

The hospital is immensely grateful to see him, of course. The hospital administrators are eager to spin his visit for PR. Then Steve points out that the long-haired, scruffy guy lurking over there with his jacket still on and his hands in his pockets is Bucky Barnes, his lifelong friend and current lover.

“I’m bisexual,” Steve says, with that set of his jaw that says nothing will move him. “You gonna turn down Captain America’s type O blood because he’s queer? ‘Cos I am!”

Published by

M.T.

Writer, musician, polytheist, and friend of birds. I groove on transformative works.

2 thoughts on “#prayfororlando”

Leave a comment