Antinous for Everybody

I worship a dead gay teenager and you can too

POEM: Boys with flowers

tumblr_oi1diy7dpv1uss6y4o1_1280

From svartalvheim.tumblr.com

I would like to see fewer men with guns.
I would like to see more boys
with flowers in their hair.
I would like to see boys putting on aprons
and baking on cold winter mornings
while their mothers, sisters, girlfriends
sleep wrapped in colorful duvets.
I would like to see boys kissing
with flowers in their hair.
I would like to see wrestling matches
that end in congratulations with a kiss.
I would like to see men embracing
instead of a handshake at arm’s length
one pump that’s it let go.
I would like to see boys
who are not afraid to be boys
to be girls, to be men,
boys who are not afraid
to touch and be touched.
I would like to see boys
who laugh for joy and not shame.
I would like to see boys wearing flowers
who didn’t have to die
in a river, in a war, in a gang fight, in a bar brawl
whose lives, not deaths, can be celebrated
with wreaths of flowers, who wear flowers
in their hair, bells on their ankles,
beads on their wrists, hearts on their
sleeves, sugar on their mouths,
boys who can live. I want the boys
to live forever. Is that too much to ask?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

