Antinous for Everybody

I worship a dead gay teenager and you can too

Requiem for the Trans Dead, movement three

III. Sequentia

Dies irae, dies illa
This is the day of my wrath
this is the day of my trembling
this is the day when it all goes to hell
literally
this hell on earth
this man behind the podium
this moment
this is what all the prophets were prophesying
this is the day the oracles feared
this is the day of victory
and defeat
and in silence and trembling
I call on the armies of the dead
to overthrow the rule of the fathers

Confutatis maledictis
Confusion to our enemies, my friends
Confusion to the evildoers
Confusion to the patriarchs and the patriarchy
Confusion to men who think that only they are human
Confusion to men who hate women
Confusion to men who hate men they think are womanly
Confusion to the sexists, confusion to the racists
Confusion to the wealthy, confusion to the greedy
Confusion to the bishops and priests and popes
Confusion to the doctors and lawyers and judges
Confusion to all who harm children
Confusion to those who make of gender a prison
Confusion to our enemies, my ancestors, my children
Let there be an army of the dead
surrounding the towers of the mighty
Let there be a hosting of ghosts
Let this be judgment day

Judicando homo reus
In the name of the dead, I judge you
In the name of the trans women who were murdered
because they were not “real” women
I judge you
In the name of the trans men who were murdered
because they were not “real” men
I judge you
In the name of the dead whose obituaries
printed the name and gender chosen for them by others,
I judge you
In the name of the dead who died nameless,
I judge you
In the name of the suicides
who died to escape the unending bullying,
I judge you
Priests and doctors without discernment
Fathers and mothers without understanding
Demons in human form without empathy, without compassion
In the name of the trans dead
and of the queer dead
and of the dead women
and the dead children
and the extinct animals
and the vanished plants
and the poisoned waters, air, and earth
I judge you
I judge you
I judge you
and I am not the only one

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

