Antinous for Everybody

I worship a dead gay teenager and you can too

A disturbance in the Force

I have never been a fan of David Bowie, although I have long had a great respect for him as an artist. But his death feels like a body blow nevertheless.

I think he can probably gain access to any afterlife he pleases, purely on his own recognizance. But I will remember him as a spiritual ancestor, someone who belonged to the people of the Tetrad++ even before they were born.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A disturbance in the Force

  1. Bowie’s song “Changes” came out in 1972. It was still so timely in 1977 when I graduated High School that it was voted our class song. One of my co-workers is twenty years younger than me; she and her Mom attended one of his Serious Moonlight concerts, and though my co-worker was appalled when her Mom tossed a pair of her underwear onstage, she waited patiently at the stage door to have her thigh autographed by Bowie in Sharpie marker. His music has a timeless relevance – and he’ll be missed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

