Antinous for Everybody

I worship a dead gay teenager and you can too

At the core of the Mystery

Look:  age is no excuse.  If you could draw on ancient sources to help restore the sacred feminine, a deeply radical notion in the 1960s and 70s, you could certainly have noticed that those same ancient sources make frequent reference to the sacred androgyne…Gods, Goddesses, and their priesthoods alike.  We aren’t talking about some “progress” that hasn’t quite happened yet and that we need to be patient for; nor yet about disrespect for elders, forsooth.  We are talking about Ancestors, who are the most Elder of all, and reading the source material.

And that is what I came here to tell you about.  Let stupid be stupid.  What I want to say to you…especially those who are trans, genderfluid, bisexual, or any variety of shapeshifter queer…is that we aren’t some peripheral afterthought of the sexually polarized Mystery.  We aren’t the next down the priority list of being seen as fully human, and for some a bridge too far.  We are at its core.

Sara Amis, A Word to the Witch

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “At the core of the Mystery

  1. Most of this passed me by (thankfully), and I really don’t need anything else to add to my suicidal tendencies at the moment. The way I deal with that shit is to get mad, because if I get that out in that way, then I won’t take it out on myself. So, be prepared…

    Like

Leave a Reply

