Antinous for Everybody

Not drowning, just thrashing about a lot

Gentle readers! I promise I have not forgotten you, or this blog, or the tale of Hades and his wife and his unexpected visitor. A number of stressors have come between me and fruitful congress with my laptop keyboard, chiefly a major change at work. The handsome central library building where I work, which is nearly seventy years old, is about to be renovated, and all of the staff that don’t serve the public directly are being moved offsite for the duration, a projected three to five years. That staff includes me, my boss, and our division, which includes serials, cataloguing, acquisitions, and materials selection. Tomorrow is our last day in the old familiar digs, and next Wednesday is our first day to report to the new site.

The move coincides with the loss of our head of cataloguing, who has found another job, and with the Sacred Nights of Antinous, the most important holy days of the year. If my boss weren’t so calm and organized, I might have run screaming like a maenad already, and not in a good way.

Please pray that the movers don’t lose my ergonomic back cushions or anything else we really need, and I’ll be back in regular service here as soon as I can.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Not drowning, just thrashing about a lot

  1. I empathize, truly. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

