Antinous for Everybody

I worship a dead gay teenager and you can too

Because it’s not a challenge if nobody knows about it

So hey, it’s October! And because I like to write, I am setting myself a new writing challenge this month: To write a short piece of fiction every day, throughout the month of October.

I was inspired by a recent post on Tumblr where the OP had written a story every day for 30 days. I don’t think I can do that, for a variety of reasons; I do, however, think I can write a part of a story, a scene from a short story or novel, every day for 31 days. I have a lot of unwritten stories in my head, a lot of unfinished drafts in my Google Docs; I’ve already proven I can produce something daily when I did the 31 Hymns to Antinous back in May.

So, fiction every day for October! Some of it will be fanfic and might get posted on my Tumblr; some of it will be fanfic of myths and might get posted on my blog; some of it, gods willing, will be original fiction and might or might not be shared anywhere. At the end of the month I will report on my success.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Because it’s not a challenge if nobody knows about it

  1. M.A. Rivera on said:

    Sounds great! I haven’t tried any kind of challenge in a long while. I wonder if I could do this or something like. Blessings.

    Like

  2. So noted! 😉

    While I am very pleased with the devotional fiction results from this year (and it will make a fun book next year!), I have to say it has been hard in a way I was not expecting. Even if I have an idea in mind, whether days before the date or on the day itself, the first 1000-1500 words are often tortuous, and then another 500-1500 inevitably feels like it just falls out of me with barely any notice. I know I aimed toward keeping them short, but very few have been in that smaller scale that I had originally intended.

    It’s a total “duh!” point, but fiction is so much different than poetry…!?!

    Like

    • The funny thing is that I had written very little poetry in the last, oh, maybe ten years? compared to earlier periods in my life. I blogged and wrote fiction all that time, but poetry was thin on the ground. Approaching poetry as part of my devotions made all the difference–reading devotional poets and being inspired to try it myself.

      I have been missing writing fiction, though. I have a lot of ideas I haven’t been executing, so this month’s challenge is designed to make me do a little work on a lot of stories.

      Like

Leave a Reply

