Antinous for Everybody

I worship a dead gay teenager and you can too

To Paneros and Paneris on the eighteenth of the month

Opposites attract, yin turns into yang,
yang rolls over into yin, and arguments
lead to make-up sex: Thus it is, and
thus are you, Paneros, shimmering serpent,
wielder of a shining sword, and Paneris,
fluid fox, guardian of a golden apple.
Bring together the opposites in me,
I pray, like two hands brought together
in peace, centering the self, like four hands
twined together in friendship and in love,
a covenant of harmony, like two bodies
sealed together in love, in love and strife,
in darkness, in light, in silence, in laughter
and may there ever be laughter even in
strife and silence even in love.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “To Paneros and Paneris on the eighteenth of the month

  1. Wonderful! 🙂

    I sleep now.

    Like

    • Thank you! That’s about what happened for me–I forgot about the commemoration until late in the day. I’d been in a crap mood all day, but as soon as I remembered I wanted to write for the deities, I got up, put on music, made tea, washed dishes, presented some offerings, and then sat down and opened up and the poem arrived. Hail Paneros and Paneris! And then I went to bed.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Linkses, My Precious…! | Aedicula Antinoi: A Small Shrine of Antinous

  3. Pingback: Tetrad++ and Turing…!?! | Aedicula Antinoi: A Small Shrine of Antinous

Leave a Reply

